The Ross Oglesby Award


Given out each year to a distinguished faculty or staff member who has served the university for at least 10 years, The Ross Oglesby Award is a long-standing Garnet and Gold Key tradition.

First given out in 1973 to a geology professor named Stephen Winters, the award exemplifies the highest order of integrity, service and commitment to both the university and its students. It is a Garnet and Gold Key tradition that the recipient of the award remains a closely guarded secret until the moment of its presentation and conferral.

Historical Ross Oglesby Award Recipients

1973Stephen WintersDean, Basic Studies and Professor, Geology
1974Robert LawtonSpecial Asst. to the President & Professor, English
1975Thomas WrightProfessor, Music
1976Sara SrygleyProfessor, Library Science
1977Bernard SligerUniversity President
1978Katherine HoffmanProfessor, Chemistry
1979Sherrill RagansDirector, Housing
1980John CareyProfessor, Religion
1981Daisy FloryDean of the Faculties
1982Richard FallonDean and Professor, Theatre
1983Bobby LeachVice President, Student Affairs
1984Merrill HintikkaAssociate Professor, Philosophy
1985Sandra RackleyAssociate Professor, Communication
1986James HayesDean of Students
1987Gilbert LazierDean, School of Theatre
1988William BarcoAssociate Director, Alumni Affairs
1989Sally KariothAssociate Professor, Nursing
1990Ray SolomonDean, College of Business
1991Kurt HoferProfessor, Biological Science
1992Stephen MacNamaraDirector, Collins Center
1993Nancy TurnerDirector, Oglesby Union
1994Maxine JonesAssociate Professor, History
1995Robert BraswellProfessor, Engineering
1996Robert ReevesAssociate Professor, Biological Science
1997Clifford MadsenProfessor, Music
1998Kenneth GoldsbyAssociate Professor, Chemistry
1999Joseph BeckhamChairman, Dept. of Educational Leadership
2000Mark StrifflerAssociate Director, Oglesby Union
2001Betty Lou JoanosAssociate Director, FSU Alumni Association
2002Max CarrawayUniversity Registrar
2003Reubin AskewAlumnus and Former Governor of Florida
2004Mark BertolamiDirector of Facilities Planning
2005Alicia CrewsDirector of Campus Recreation
2006William WoodyardAssociate Professor, Business Law & Real Estate
2007Mark EdenfieldLaw Enforcement Officer, FSU Police Department
2008Timothy MatherlyAssociate Professor, Management
2009Thomas Kent “TK” WetherellUniversity President
2010Lawrence “Larry” AbeleUniversity Provost
2011Susan BlessingProfessor, Physics
2012Linda MahlerAssociate Dean, Undergraduate Studies
2013Mary CoburnVice President, Student Affairs
2014Laura OsteenDirector, Center for Leadership & Social Change
2015Joseph SchlenoffProfessor, Polymer Science
2016Craig FilarDirector, Office of National Fellowships
2017Eva KillingsAmbassador, University Dining
2018Miguel HernandezAssociate Director, Center for Leadership & Social Change
2019Not AwardedNot Awarded
2020Not AwardedNot Awarded
2021Leonard HamiltonHead Coach, Men’s Basketball
2022Sally McRorieUniversity Provost

2022 – Sally McRorie presented with Garnet and Gold Key’s Ross Oglesby Award 2021 – Hamilton presented with Garnet and Gold Key’s Ross Oglesby Award
2017 – Eva Killings honored with Oglesby Award
2016 – FSU Alumni Association to celebrate achievements during Homecoming